What Council Does

Goulburn Mulwaree Council is a local government area located in the Southern Tablelands of New South Wales, encompassing Goulburn, Marulan, Tarago, Towrang and other villages. 

The council was formed in 2004 as the Greater Argyle Council as an amalgamation of Goulburn City and parts of the former Mulwaree Shire. It was renamed in 2005 to Goulburn Mulwaree Council. 

Goulburn Mulwaree Council encompasses a land area of 3223 square kilometers, and has a current population of 32,138 people. 

The region produced over $1.74 billion in Gross Regional Product in 2021 with our largest employing industries being Health Care & Social Assistance, Construction, Retail Trade, and Public Administration & Safety.

Council is responsible for the provision of water, sewer and waste services along with maintenance of the region's road networks and construction of an exciting capital works program which has delivered projects such as the Tony Onions Park upgrade, Riverside Park Amenities and Infrastructure - as well as the Riverside Park Pump Track, Roberts Park BMX Track upgrade, and the Seiffert Oval Amenities. 

Customer Service

Goulburn Mulwaree Council has developed a Customer Service Charter which articulates the organisation’s commitment to delivering service excellence. Council is committed to providing a high standard of customer service that is timely, accurate and accountable, and responsive to customer needs.

GMC Customer Service Charter(PDF, 173KB)